video game post
Friday, February 5th, 2021 03:49 pmsummary of my favorite video game franchises, which games i've played and recommend? note that i grew up on nintendo so that is basically all u are gonna get here
for further clarity, i share most of these (3ds/switch) games with my brother! so if it looks like a lot... i am not dropping all this money just for myself (shock emoji)
POKEMON
first played the early games (gen i, ii) just a little and then my mind was blown when i got to play diamond/pearl and saw the color and graphics LOL (5th grade, around 2009?). around this time my brother was borrowing a lot of pokemon dvds from the library i guess. i would call advanced/hoenn my first series of the anime and dppt/iv my first generation. since then i've played at least one version of all the main series games except sun/moon/ultra. i didn't really want to play swsh but since the switch kindly allows u to have multiple accs i tried it and it was just okay... where's the depth? to me
favorites: my favorites for nostalgia reasons are platinum and soulsilver. i was really excited for the oras remake because i have a lot of attachment to hoenn too but it just didn't hit the same... from the spinoffs, my favorites are mystery dungeon explorers of sky + pokemon conquest + pokemon ranger almia/guardian signs. unfortunately all these games are at least 9 years old omg... i really hope that the dppt remake will be fun but i'm prepared for disappointment T__T
PROFESSOR LAYTON
pl is a puzzle + mystery game. basically, each game has an overarching mystery, and your group of characters travels between different locations to progress through the story, solving puzzles along the way. a lot of the puzzles are simply brain teasers, math problems, mazes, etc. i played the first game sometime after getting a ds (5th or 6th grade) and i found it fun until (minor spoiler alert) there was an implied character death. it really freaked me out lol! but i got back into it because i enjoy the challenges, and the games are just really charming. there are 6 games plus some "spinoffs" - i played all of them, including the ace attorney crossover. imo the series peaked early, the stories definitely got worse as time went on, and there are only so many good, unique puzzles out there before you start getting repetitive you know? but it's still fun to solve puzzles, and the satisfaction of figuring out one on your own is so good (the game has a hint system!). my personal favorite game was #4 and i think #3 had the most interesting story.
recommendations: there are mobile ports of the first three games (and also the mobile only game and the 7th, not very good game). i haven't played them, and personally i think the layton experience is tied to having a ds stylus (and playing the switch game was weird 2 me) but the stories of those three games are worth it i think! at $10-$10-$16 USD i think those are really reasonable prices, to experience those games.
side note the professor layton/ace attorney crossover game has a pretty lame story (it's not canon obviously) but the gameplay is kinda fun because you get to switch between exploration puzzles and courtroom logic :)
ACE ATTORNEY
oh ace attorney how i love to hate you..... basically it's a visual novel game, you travel to locations to collect info and evidence via conversations and scene inspection, and then you cross examine witnesses in court to prove your client innocent of murder. i don't remember what year i first played aa but it's a really fun series i'm just a sensitive girl and especially when i was younger, mystery/crime stuff has always spooked me! [tangent: my first memory of having a fear of something was when i was like 7 and i got scared of foxes because of dora the explorer.... my first experience being afraid of a general concept like mystery was when i was in 2nd grade and tried out the clue computer game cd my dad bought, which i thought was fun but ended up terrifying me. (shock emoji)] but i really like the concept of solving a mystery, using the clues etc because it's so logical... it just consumes my head when it's nighttime though! not in a debilitating way anymore but essentially when i was younger after playing during the day i'd stay up all night watching sitcom episodes until i passed out just so i wouldn't have to think about anything. the funny thing is this never really applied to shows like htgawm it was only for video games
anyway. through the years i worked my way through the original trilogy and 4th game using the walkthroughs... gave up on one of the sidegames because it was all Too Much. by the time i reached the 5th game, the ui improved and i didn't need to rush through the game anymore so i could really take it at my own pace and play without autopilot walkthrough-ing it. very fun and the stories can be really good (they're silly, but good)! it's also just so easy to meme, see how i keep posting youtube videos of people having arguments but inserted into the ace attorney format lol
recommendations: 1-4 > 5 and 6. still need to replay the edgeworth games to see how they stack up but i think the stories of those are good too, 5 and 6 just have silly stories but the gameplay is still fun. also 5 and 6 have athena so they are still worthy <3 the original trilogy has a steam port ($30) and it looks like there are mobile ports for 4-6 and edgeworth investigations 1 which umm i am thinking about buying... (all $16 or $20)
FIRE EMBLEM
i played fire emblem awakening (fire emblem #13) sometime after my brother got it (2014ish) and i really really enjoyed it. i don't remember if i did because he thought i might like it or if it was just popular on tumblr but either way it hooked me on the series... we love turn based, math based tactical combat that doesn't require you to be quick with your fingers! (ie. never ask me to play smash) aside from the satisfaction of that type of battle strategy, there are actually meaningful relationships between a lot of the characters because of the support system (that lets you unlock unique convos after using units together). so much shipping potential in these games.... it's about the Trauma and the Dynamics. i'm someone who cares a lot about characters so for me it's just such a good fit. fe is one of the series that records your playtime and let me tell u i literally have hundreds upon hundreds of hours for these games combined. i would not be surprised if i've reached 1000 in total.
recommendations: i've played fe13 (awakening for 3ds), 14 (fates for 3ds), 15 (echoes for 3ds) and 16 (three houses for switch). admittedly echoes, which is a remake, is the least up my alley, and i would rank them 3h > awakening > fates. fates isn't even bad but a lot of people hated it for good reasons LOL, and 3h improved on it a lot, including content to cost ratio. you don't need to play these games in order, and i was so happy that three houses sold so well and a lot of my friends got into fe for the first time because of it :)
THE LEGEND OF ZELDA
i've tried other zelda games and none of them were really my playstyle but breath of the wild was something so different... my brother bought it almost a year before i played it for the first time, even tho i knew everyone had great things to say about it and i wanted to play but you know what they say about things coming to you when you need them. i needed a distraction on nov 4 and thus the rest of november was sunk into this game :) i'm someone who doesn't like for a game to have too many branch paths (ie. i test out all the options/i always explore the whole town in pokemon and if i can't keep track of it all i get like, stressed) but botw is like.... you can truly do whatever you want and there are a ton of different ways to "make progress". plus the map is so cool like the fact that it records locations and shrines and u can put stamps on it? and the best part is it doesn't feel like just grinding if you want to gain resources before you do a boss fight because you can work towards other goals like taking pictures or finding koroks. you can succeed as a button smasher with good weapons. and u can collect hearts via doing shrines (which are PUZZLES) to make boss fights easier so like... it makes it so much more fun for me. i do use the walkthroughs and i don't love having to do that but i think there's a good mix between being able to figure things out on ur own using what the game gives u + wanting to achieve your goals faster. it's also such a beautiful game and the physics engine is so cool like honestly i have so few complaints about this game.... admittedly after i explored most of the map/got the obvious shrines i stopped playing as much but i'm not ready to put it down for good yet.
MISC
of course i have to give a shoutout to the mario kart and mario party games bc i had so much fun with my friends as a kid thanks to them (and as an adult :)) i lowkey suck at all the other mario games!
kirby superstar ultra *____* i like playing kirby games in general it's about all the different abilities you can swallow! fun game that is not too hard
picross 3d is one of my favorite games... it's nonograms but in 3d!! i really liked it a lot better than the 2d ones but i nvr finished the ds version and iirc the newer one was rly expensive lol
style savvy also super fun for kid me... i think u just bought clothes from the suppliers and sold them to customers who hinted at what brands they liked. but. fun!!
rhythm heaven is definitely one of my fave franchises.... i have the ds game, the wii game and the 3ds game. ds > wii > 3ds but anyway basically there are mini games set to songs and you have to either tap or flick or click on the right timings. the songs and art are soooo cute :)
there are some other games i want to get into... i got persona 4 but it did creep me out so i haven't picked it up in a while TT i will accept recommendations! including for mobile games... i have money in google (that i got from google not that i gave google) so pls suggest anything u think is worth my money!
PC
pc games that i played as a kid? the dream day wedding series (hidden object games)... so much fun *___* u not only look for non creepy objects (like you do in the mystery hidden object games) but u also get to do "escape room" minigames and customize wedding decor. also chocolatier 3... how 2 run your own business n travel all over the world but also customize ur own chocolate. u could also engineer the recipes to have the most profitable ingredients using guides lol.... also the professor fizzwizzle series (professor fizzwizzle, fizzball, professor fizzwizzle and the molten mystery, brain train....) which has its variants but originally it was one of those navigate the platforms and move objects in a certain order to reach the goal, so its very puzzle-like. also my tribe which gives u an island with people on it and u have to gather resources so that they can keep upgrading the island... again a game u could optimize if u knew what u were doing. also emily's delicious which is one of those fast food simulators but like not in a stressful way? ALSO TROPIX 2... minigames + island customization... i'm kinda sad the pc games i knew aged out. i simply do not know what is Up these days
CO-OP
side category for games that are made for playing with friends! for pc i have monaco and unrailed, for switch i have overcooked 2, ultimate chicken horse, snipperclips. monaco is about escaping from maps as a team, unrailed is building the tracks for a moving train, overcooked is preparing meals under time limit and chaos, chicken horse is competing to reach the end over and over setting new traps for each other each time, and snipperclips is accomplishing different goals by cutting each character into different shapes! i love multiplayer games because it's really easy to connect with other people just by playing a fun game together...
no subject
Date: Sat, Feb. 6th, 2021 12:30 am (UTC)no subject
Date: Sat, Feb. 6th, 2021 04:30 am (UTC)