the ideal "fruit tea"
Saturday, August 16th, 2025 02:54 pm🌌 @/closingover Aug 9
i need to write a dw post rating different "house" fruit teas bc i have had so many bad ones
🌌 @/closingover Aug 9
i think a good one has whole orange/lemon/lime slices and something like pineapple or watermelon, but also no seeds or excessive pulp, and a good green tea flavor but also decently sweet at 100%
☆☆☆ irredeemable
★☆☆ i would only get it again if i was desperate
★★☆ i would get it again but there's something missing
★★★ perfect
i will ofc preface this with the disclaimer that my opinion may mean nothing to you because i always order 100% sugar and 100% ice. however i am not here to drink lemon water or leaf water for that matter!! and then my problem is i hate sucking up seeds or pulp in the straw i just want a Low Maintenance Drink. i will happily eat the orange slices, watermelon/pineapple chunks at the end once the tea is gone.
besides "fresh fruit" special teas my go-tos are mango/passionfruit/peach/lychee/lemon/apple (jasmine) green teas. my current fave is kyo matcha passionfruit green tea. this hooked me on passionfruit as a tea flavor also but in general kyo matcha just has a great green tea flavor with a good balance. and honestly i do like the taste of that more than most fruit teas i try but 1) there aren't a lot of kyo matcha locations and 2) fresh fruit teas are about the aesthetic.... it's also a game to me atp to try new ones
i also love a good creme brulee black milk tea, tiger sugar #5 (brown sugar boba pudding cream mousse), hojicha/matcha latte etc. i love a good salty cheese foam with a sweet milk drink but all in moderation right... (local girl is lactose intolerant and sensitive to caffeine)
inspired by this post which ofc i only read for educational purposes as i do not drink 0% milk tea ever
★★★koala bakery signature fruit tea
SLICED FRUIT orange, pineapple, watermelon, lime, etc
the og that got me hooked on fresh fruit teas... i'm biased and also haven't had it in quite a while but it set the baseline
★★?uniuni fruit combo jasmine green tea
SLICED FRUIT ?
honestly i don't remember that much about it except that i was willing to get another one the same weekend (i didn't but that was because i had alcohol instead...) which means it was good
★★☆bengong's jasmine super fruit tea
SLICED FRUIT orange, lemon, lime, grape
the first sip i felt was kinda bitter and i wasn't totally sure if it was the tea being strong or the citruses but usually if the tea gets more bitter the next day it's the citrus so i'll blame the tea for this one. anyway very delightful jasmine green taste and appropriately sweet once i got used to it, i really think the only thing missing is like some pineapple or watermelon and like a spoonful of sugar
★??yytime super fruit tea
SLICED FRUIT lime, pineapple, strawberry, blueberry(?), lemon(?), orange(?)
i don't remember how good this was because i got it like 3 years ago but i expect it was quite good. it was visually pretty though
★??teahut super fruit tea
SLICED FRUIT apple(?), strawberry(?), orange(?)
honestly i don't remember how this tasted
★?☆ume tea mega fruit family green tea
SLICED FRUIT i can't remember but it def had fruit in it
the problem with this is it came in a bucket and it was too sweet for my 0% sugar friends and not sweet enough for me so no one was really happy LOL (i think we got 50% as a compromise) i feel like it would have been fine in a smaller size but you simply can't share it with people who have polar opposite preferences
★?☆the tea house fruit tea (?)
DICED FRUIT? ???
i don't have a photo of this one so i honestly fear slandering it unjustified, but i feel like it was diced fruit.... it was not that long ago that i had it so it's annoying that i can't remember what it tasted like
★☆☆chicha san chen classic fruit tea
SLICED FRUIT apple, passionfruit(?), lime(?) girl idk
i remember not being impressed with this... i think it was really pulpy/seedy which i hate. maybe sour? as much as i love apple flavoring i don't really like it in my fresh fruit tea because the texture is not very nice and it's a weak flavor anyway.
★☆☆yifang fruit tea
SLICED FRUIT apple, orange(?), passionfruit(?)
i was disappointed by this it definitely had a lot of seeds/pulp
☆☆☆yokee fresh fruit green tea
SLICED FRUIT lime, watermelon, strawberry, pineapple, passionfruit seed, orange
this one was particularly egregious because my friends waited for the order for like 30 minutes while i walked to michaels to buy elastic to repair friendship bracelets for svt concert. then i tried the tea and it was completely unsweet at 100% omg... probably tasted like water too. i can't remember if it had any redeeming qualities which is unfortunate bc the picture online is pretty.
☆☆☆daboba fruity party
DICED FRUIT apple, kiwi, ?
this drink doesn't have any tea in it but i didn't know that when i ordered it! why would you put it in the FRUIT TEA SERIES if it doesn't have any tea in it. it's more like lemonade with diced apple/kiwi/mango/something else i forget and lychee jelly so it was awfully sweet and yet was full of seeds and pulp also... i only put it on here so i could complain about it
no subject
Date: Mon, Aug. 18th, 2025 02:13 am (UTC)no subject
Date: Fri, Aug. 22nd, 2025 10:45 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: Thu, Aug. 21st, 2025 05:17 am (UTC)i will look forward to an updated version of this post after ur china trip!
no subject
Date: Fri, Aug. 22nd, 2025 10:49 pm (UTC)i need to try more flavors like mulberry and wintermelon!! and yes i need to try things in china!!!
i feel you will never be in the neck of the woods to go to koala bakery LOL probably it is a product of memory though so i don't think you are missing a holy grail or anything
no subject
Date: Fri, Aug. 22nd, 2025 10:28 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: Fri, Aug. 22nd, 2025 10:52 pm (UTC)WHY WAS YOKEE LITERALLY THE WORST BOBA EXPERIENCE OF OUR ENTIRE LIVES. i totally forgot about that because it was so bad
anyway random but i really want to try junbi matcha which is mostly in socal atm but is rapidly expanding lol... it's more matcha forward obviously but the drinks look cute n fun and it has the miffy sakura collection T__T we should also look for fruit mix drinks in nyc because i want to try good boba there (although meimei's ny vlog was like wow <3 the food here is so good but all the drinks suck. but we need to believe regardless)
i wish heytea had a mixed fruit boom... honestly kind of want to go anyway because there are so many locations in new york but we need to be careful with our time and caffeine selections LOL. anyway thank you for this fun post
no subject
Date: Fri, Aug. 22nd, 2025 11:54 pm (UTC)in meimei we trust... yeah i couldn't remember any places i got fruit tea at in aus @ ___ @ i am happy to try more matchas though but i think it doesn't hit like fruit tea bc there's less Visual to comment on
i think the dopamine hit of buying fresh fruit tea is a lot like gacha. it's about the gambling. this is my form of gambling
no subject
Date: Sun, Aug. 24th, 2025 06:47 am (UTC)