hyojungss: zhou jieqiong (Default)
[personal profile] hyojungss

galex

alex albon 🇬🇧 🇹🇭 / george russell 🇬🇧
1996 03 23 • 1998 02 15



galex are one of the few pairings on this list that have never been f1 teammates - and never really had cars that were equally competitive either, so they are usually fighting at opposite ends of the f1 grid - which speaks to how unhinged they are that i can be obsessed with them without any actual rivalry.

they really just have something going on.... haha jk unless... but they would do anything for each other. they’re just obsessed with each other and love talking about each other and have been a part of each others’ lives for so long and probably always will be. rather than specific events forging their relationship, i feel like they’re just more reveals of how they are. including extremely suspicious moments and open flirting.

example 1: alex lending george his good mountain bike in 2017 because george is the worse cycler, and alex taking the bike without the working rear brakes and breaking his collarbone because he crashed. george driving alex to the hospital.

example 2: george languishing in the shitbox williams for 3 years (2019-2021) while alex went from no seat to a last-minute toro rosso seat to a mid-season promotion to red bull to 1.5 years later no seat once again. george talking about alex even when he wasn’t racing in 2021. george campaigning harddd with williams management to give alex the seat to replace him at williams while he finally gets to go to mercedes... two years later george getting emotional while alex talks about being out of the sport in the goofy 2019 rookie “reunion” video :( he ends this video jokingly telling alex to write “to toto [wolff]: i’m free in 2025” because truly i think nothing short of a wdc would make him happier than them being teammates...

not to mention the twitch streams, the bit with lily (alex’s actual girlfriend) especially around when they first started going out, their road trips and talking about each other during fanzones, and various other moments that i cannot possibly link here. but i will try.

sebchal

sebastian vettel 🇩🇪 / charles leclerc 🇲🇨
1987 07 03 • 1997 10 16



the NARRATIVE....... before i got into f1 i was like why would i care about a relationship between some guy [no championship, 2 race wins] and an older man. i did not know what would happen when i opened my eyes

> charles dreams of racing for the legacy team of ferrari his whole life
> seb, a four-time world champion for red bull, tries in vain to win a championship at ferrari for what is eventually six seasons and fails
> charles idolizes seb while in the ferrari driver academy [ymmv on this i guess]
> seb spends two years as charles’ teammate, serving as a role model while simultaneously being crushed by charles in performance, especially in their second season together
> seb retires from the sport and charles only speaks about him with respect and reverence

and you know at first i was like you people [the sebchal fans] are crazy but then as i read up on the lore i realized that i was becoming equally crazy. you know that video where charles and seb play guess who and seb was actually the person charles had to guess, and he asks about the person’s eye color. and seb so subtly takes his sunglasses off after that but charles doesn’t get the hint. 😵‍💫

charles and seb were so competitive with crash drama and charles was so much better at driving the ferrari during their time as teammates but seb was better at all of their pr challenge games (guess the song, guess the fact, etc) which i think is such good symbolism for the experience in life that seb had on him, charles representing the new generation and the hope for ferrari that seb could not fulfill, etc. and yet still 4, 5 years later charles has not been able to achieve their dreams.

i’m so glad seb comes to an f1 race once or twice a season so we can still have our crumbs... their era was before i got into f1 but i’m so glad i was into it for seb’s final season T_T

c2

carlos sainz 🇪🇸 / charles leclerc 🇲🇨
1994 09 01 • 1997 10 16



when i first got into f1 i did not really care about c2 but ironically in the last two years i’ve come to really find it interesting.. maybe in 2022 i was so blinded by the political drama between charles and carlos that it annoyed me more than anything.

i like them these days because it’s clear that carlos and charles know each other so well, can roast each other openly (say any sport, i’m better / not racing) (this stupid interview where charles says he should just have an interview where he answers all of the questions as carlos because that’s how many times he’s heard the answers. and carlos getting him back for the golf comment) and yet they can work together professionally for the most part. they’re not best friends, but they get along. they’re rivals as much as anyone’s teammate is their rival but their competition has never been front and center in the media, because when the ferrari has really contended for a championship over the course of a season (aka the first third of 2022...) they’ve never been in the same ballpark of points. charles and carlos individually have a lot of aspects that contribute to rich personal narratives (eg. personal losses, family history of racing) and are just great people to mine for character study lol... but i think what actually makes them compelling as a duo is that they are like this despite the contrast between them as far as how they operate on track and politically [in terms of f1] off track.

carlos moved from mclaren to ferrari when seb moved to aston martin. at this point charles had already signed a 5 year contract with ferrari (longest in their history), ie. they had put their long-term hope in charles already. i don’t really want to get too into it because i’m biased (santander for me terrible bank ‼️) but charles fans have gotten so into it with carlos fans over who gets priority in the team, if one person does get priority in the team, if one person SHOULD get priority in the team, etc. because sometimes the argument is “they should both be treated fairly” and sometimes it’s “we should prioritize the person ahead in the championship” and sometimes it’s “we should hold positions to maximize the team result” just based on who your favorite driver is and if they’re ahead that day.

but a lot of it is like, charles averages better statistics than carlos, but it’s not total domination like max vs checo is. they push each other to be better. and they both have different strengths - charles prefers oversteer and carlos prefers understeer, there have been a lot of race weekends where carlos has simply had the edge on charles for whatever reason, and sometimes carlos just makes better decisions in the race that allow him to end in a better position. but charles fans cannot handle carlos doing better than charles ever. they also thought that carlos’ political entourage was steering things away from charles and in carlos’ favor, especially in previous years. so they’re quite glad that he’s leaving the team now.

carlos is less likely to follow team orders than charles and is vocal about his opinions on strategy, so then you have situations like vegas 2024 where charles ends up behind carlos and the chirlies blame carlos and other people blame charles for cooking his tyres but the radio post-race is clearly charles venting about losing out which he thinks is because he is nice/respectful. i’m very curious to see if charles will actually change in that way or if he will continue being as he is. but how different they are is really what makes the c2 dynamic interesting.

i’ll get into the significance in the brocedes section but nico rosberg had a lot to say about how charles and carlos have a surprisingly good relationship off track for how intense their on-track fights have been. the incredible thing is actually that they never crashed each other out in the whole 4 years. i think they’re both quite smart.

they’re still close and travel together a lot! (posted todayy)

landoscar

lando norris 🇬🇧 / oscar piastri 🇦🇺
1999 11 13 • 2001 04 06



lando joined mclaren in 2017 > started racing in f1 for them in 2019 > stuck with them through mid years and bad years until the car became substantially better midway through 2023 and podium contended before winning his first race in 2024

oscar was in the renault/alpine academy, gap yeared after winning f3 and f2 consecutively because of unlucky timing and general team incompetence, got announced as an alpine driver and then wrote the most iconic tweet of all time, chased down lando in mclaren for two years (traded wins in 2024 including some controversially gifted wins) and is now the championship leader in mid 2025... there actually are a lot of narratives here (and my favorite is the potential of poached oscar getting the championship before loyalist lando, just because of how sad this would be for lando) but the discourse this year is so zzz.

in 2023 i was really obsessed with landoscar because it was like they were really figuring each other out and boundaries and whatnot and now it’s like they’re just so stable and rational and they aren’t trying to psychologically torment each other. this is an oversimplification of things but you can read the links below. my problem is i hate rooting for successful people i only like engaging in self-pity!


brocedes

lewis hamilton 🇬🇧 / nico rosberg 🇩🇪
1985 01 07 • 1985 06 27



brocedes is an all-time great ship and i don’t think any f1 ship on the grid can transcend them. i have serious doubts about any f1 ship in the future being able to just because no one wants to put teammates like that together ever again, because of how legendary the consequences of doing it were.

this was before my era too but my favorite part of it really just is that they went from childhood friends > teammates > racing in f1 > teammates again > rivals > enemies > mutually engaging in psychological warfare > nico succeeding in breaking lewis after 3 years and then quitting the sport forever because he couldn’t handle having to do it again > nico being a random pundit and dropping lore about seeing each other in monaco on free practice commentary or interviewing lewis during top 3 or comparing other drivers’ crashes, teammates’ crashes specifically, to his crashes with lewis from 9, 11 years ago after a race. i just think it’s all insane person behavior and i’m obsessed with it every time. but then, lewis buying nico’s daughters christmas presents...

yukierre

pierre gasly 🇫🇷 / yuki tsunoda 🇯🇵
1996 02 07 • 2000 05 11



there was just something about how yuki latched onto pierre when they were teammates at the beginning of his career in f1, and was really devastated to see him go to alpine. the alphatauri content featuring the two of them (language exchange, small talk, sushi taste test) was so good in a way that reminds you some chemistry is just lightning in a bottle and the replacement teammates never quite hit the same. i don’t particularly like pierre that much but as kaia once said, yuki just makes him likable LOL. now i want to make fried rice.

lestappen

max verstappen 🇳🇱 / charles leclerc 🇲🇨
1997 09 30 • 1997 10 16



the thing about lestappen is that for some incomprehensible reason it’s the most popular f1 ship even though they aren’t particularly close to each other nor do they even hate or dislike each other 😭 literally their racing highlights are more interesting than their off-track videos which you can’t say for anyone else. brocedes and sebchal perhaps but only because of how their crashes feed into the Narratives.

they have one massively overplayed childhood meme (just an inchident) but i think the attention on it just comes from the fact that the people yearn for a title battle between drivers who are close to evenly matched... the first half of 2022 is all we have. they’re so good on paper because they’re the same age, grew up overlapping in karting, have respect for each other as drivers, don’t have any beef and really truly just fight it out on track. but as a result they just aren’t interesting from a dynamic perspective. they're on this list though because I WANT to care about them ... give me a title battle!!!!


pierresteban

pierre gasly 🇫🇷 / esteban ocon 🇫🇷
1996 02 07 • 1996 09 17



the one (1) reason i accepted that alpine lifted themselves out of the p9 hole they were in near the end of 2024’s season is because of the p/e narrative. childhood friends > enemies and this is because of them competing for funding when they were young and the conduct during that time. their friendship being over, pierre being rumored to join alpine in 2023, everyone expecting tons of drama with them as teammates, them being able to be professional and civil publicly with only one or two memorable incidents on track, and then, the rainy brazil 2024 where he and esteban got a double podium and massive, significant points for the team. it really was a sweet ending for their 2 year partnership.


other


maxiel, carlando, piarles, carcar etc.... i truly do not care about them. however i love the “soy lago” moment for carlando T___T

in 2022 i was really into sebmick because again The Narratives... seb having idolized michael who became a friend and mentor and then seb being that friend/mentor for mick especially now that his dad is unable to serve in that role. mick loves his dad so much and he is so likeable i feel like. he just wasn’t good enough to stay in f1.... but then he also left f1 at the same time as seb which felt somewhat poetic.

twitch quartet was fun but now it’s just like. galex and sometimes lando (2019 rookie trio) and then charles doesn’t really have much to do with them.

these days i’m starting to be convinced of gax because they’re both menaces on and off track (post-qatar 2024 feuding) and it’s really quite fun to see things like this because of it. george is so political and crafty and max is like. he is also extremely tactical when driving, even more so because he is perfect at executing questionable moves to the limits of the regulations (deliberate crash, spain 2025: see the excellent yelistener video), but when talking to the media he truly dgaf whereas i think george is more intentionally manipulative. i really do not have a dog in this fight i just think it’s fun. see this post

new gen i need to see ollie and gabi fight for anything because they’re so funny to me. ollie needs to svk uvf fxvyy vffhr first though...

there is some good 1644 fanart but i don’t really find them compelling beyond the fact that i’m glad they get along, maybe because lewis struggling is sad and discouraging. but i really like this moment from 2016

wag yuri bonus: there are some really cute friendships between the girlfriends of certain drivers, mostly what i pay attention to is alex (charles’ gf) & rebecca (carlos’ gf). alex and rebecca were really quite cute, you simply cannot take it too seriously but also you can Imagine whatever you want 💖i also love this one from carmen (george’s gf)

Date: Mon, Sep. 22nd, 2025 03:27 am (UTC)
rhodochrosite: (Default)
From: [personal profile] rhodochrosite
literally soooo excited to read and understand this post firstly sebchal makes me so crazy why did charles say seb always lets him win when charles asks him to 😂😭 and charles outperforming his idol/mentor/first love(?)/teammate/competitor while always looking up to him but potentially never ultimately actually surpassing him really is an insane narrative x_x "dont waste it".. aghhhh FERRARI WHEN I GET YOUU...

also this helped me understand c2 which i have not yet been able to grasp since i missed their entire teammates era (i better finish the c2 ferrari years seasons of dts LOL) so thank you i have much to consider. i do think they look very nice together! and i like weird forms of competitiveness 🙂‍↕️

not to only have anything to say about 16 ships but its really surprising to me to discover lestappen is the most popular f1 ship bc like i know why im here (nothing where there should be something / being good at post race debrief and no other forms of interaction / shared delusions etc) but why is everyone else here.. idk... there really kinda is nothing... (which makes Me smile)